A science fiction double feature

2 02 2008

I am a self-professed geek, and always have been.  I got into science fiction around fourth grade and never looked back.  Through high school, college and law school, I haunted the stacks of the local library, looking for new challenges and old friends.  But eventually, I just sort of stopped reading sf.  I’m not sure what it was, but most of the new stuff didn’t capture my interest, so my reading meandered into other areas.

Until recently.  I’m happy to report that I’ve rejoined the collective.  The newer writers, at least those of the last ten years, have rekindled my enjoyment of reading sf.  I talking about Orsen Scott Card, David Brin, David Weber, George R. R. Martin, Greg Bear, Stephen Baxter, Harry Turtledove, Niven, Pournelle, Dan Simmons and Charles Stross.

I know, it’s a very eclectic list, from alternative history to hard sf to postcyber to fantasy.  I’m attempted to discern what thread connects them all, but I haven’t had any success.  All I can see is that each of these writers has the talent to create believable, fully-fleashed out characters, and to let them have fun.  All of these are simply damn fun reads.

There’s one name not in that list that I wanted to specifically acknowledge as one of the brightest writers working today – John Scalzi.  I know I’m not the first person to write about John’s work (the puppy blender is a big fan), but I’ve never been all that original, anyway.  Old Man’s War was simply magnificent, and Android’s Dream was great space opera.

It’s good to be back!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

