I’m not the only one!

28 09 2007

My wife thinks I’m insane.  Notwithstanding the fact that I am, the particular neurosis in this case is my inability to get rid of books.  I have books everywhere – on the nightstand, in the nightstand, in the attic, in the guest room, on my bookshelf, on The Young Master’s bookshelf, and elsewhere.  To me, giving away book is akin to losing a friend.  I just can’t bring myself to do it.

It’s nice to know that others share my neurosis.  Orson Scott Card, one of the great writers of our time, confesses the same affection.  In his periodic column, “Uncle Orson Reviews Everything,” in relating an encounter with  airline traveler who intentionally abandoned  book on an airplane, he notes:

To me it was as unthinkable as discarding a pet — though not quite at the level of, say, drowning kittens. But all my life I’ve regarded books as precious things. I acquired and hoarded them like a literary miser from the time I was in fourth grade and used to skip lunch so I could order more books from TAB (the “Teen Age Book Club” by Scholastic).

Perhaps we can form a support group.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

